The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) provides rental subsidies to families with low income in the form of Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HCV).  The South Central MN Multi-County HRA (SCMMCHRA) administers the Section 8 HCV program in Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca and Watonwan Counties. 

The Section 8 HCV Program provides opportunities for eligible low income individuals and families to locate and rent any type of housing in the private rental market.   SCMMCHRA pays rental subsidies directly to rental property owners on behalf of eligible individuals and families. 

The SCMMCHRA is governed by a ten member Board of Commissioners, appointed by the individual counties, with two members from each of the five counties.  The Commissioners are responsible for approving the agency’s annual budget and for policy setting.   Regular Board meetings are held on the last Wednesday of every other odd numbered month at 5:45 p.m. in the conference room at the SCMMCHRA office located at 422 Belgrade Avenue, Suite 102, North Mankato, MN 56003.

Martin County
Elliot Belgard (Vice-Chairperson) and County Commissioner John Hovick

Nicollet County
David Anderson (Chairperson) and County Commissioner Terry Morrow

Sibley County
Tom Doughan (Secretary) and County Commissioner Joe Kreger

Waseca County
Alvin Grams and County Commissioner De Malterer

Watonwan County
County Commissioners Jim Pettersen and Scott Westman

The Executive Director oversees the daily operations of the SCMMCHRA and directs staff. SCMMCHRA has achieved HUD’s highest recognition as a “High Performance” agency in the housing assistance program.
Executive Director
Jessica Place
Housing Coordinators
Kelly Cattrysse
Julie Collins
Housing Coordinator | FSS
Kaylie Rauchman
Administrative Assistant
Adriana Northup
Housing Inspector
T. Stoufer